Home > Story of SVYM > (9) And we were officially born…

(9) And we were officially born…

June 3, 2009

It was nearly two weeks since the incident at Cheluvamba Hospital happened (refer to my previous post). I was becoming increasingly restless. There was such a strong urge to do something, but I was not sure what to do. I felt that I was not really in control of what was happening either to me or around me.

I walked across to the College Co-operative Society and asked them how to start a Society. The person working there guided me to an office near the Mysore Palace. I went there only to be told that it was the office which registered co-operative societies and the place that I was looking for was the District Registrar’s office in the DC office building. I went there and found an elderly gentleman with a ‘topi’ and vermilion marked forehead, who explained to me that it was indeed the place to register organizations under the Karnataka Societies Registration Act, 1960. He explained to me that i needed seven members to be part of the Governing Body and it was the minimum number to register an organization. He also told me that we needed something called a ‘Memorandum of Association’ (MOA).

I was so baffled by all this that I did not know what to do next. I was in Bangalore that weekend and I suddenly remembered that our long time family friend Mr.Varadarajan was a member of a Lion’s Club in Bangalore. I met him and asked him what an MOA was. He gave me a copy of the MOA of his Lion’s Club. The novice that I was then, I copied the same thing (including the title) to be presented to the District Registrar’s office as our MOA.

Now that the MOA issue was resolved, I needed to find the remaining six members for the Governing Body. I spoke to K.N.Chandrashekar, Selvam, Minaketan Singh, Guruprasad, T.Chandrappa and I still could manage only six. I needed one more person. The same evening, i got a letter from my old school mate T.Ramesh that he was also coming to Mysore to do his M.Sc in Physics at the Regional Institute of Education. I was thrilled that an old mate was joining me and also relieved that here was the 7th person for the Governing Body. Without even asking him or taking his permission, i added his name to the list. Now all was set!

I marched down to the District Registrar’s office and presented our MOA and the list of 7 members along with the application and fees. The elderly gentleman (i think his name was Hanumanthappa) asked me to come the following week. When I went, he was both amused and upset. He explained to me that we lived in a democracy and that our MOA had to be along democratic lines. In my own ignorance, i had mentioned that the founding GB was to function lifelong and there would be no elections whatsoever. I felt that there would be no one to join me in this endeavor and thought that we would never grow beyond the initial 6 (or 7 should I say)! I then introduced the clause of a one-year term for the GB and an annual election process.

After one more week, he handed over the Registration Certificate bearing the number 122/84-85. Swami Vivekananda Youth Movement was officially born on this day, the 1st of December 1984. Our registered office was the home of Paul Tamil Selvam, with the address: No.309, Duke’s Mansion, 13th Main, Saraswathipuram, Mysore – 570009.

It all seems like it happened only yesterday and 25 years have gone by so fast!

– Balu

Categories: Story of SVYM
  1. Megha
    June 6, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I loved reading your recollections. Its a personal journey that was inspiring and touching. Over the past years I have heard much about your organization within Asha and would love to visit you as well as learn from your experiences. Please continue blogging as it helps us understand, in real time, what is happening at SVYM. Thank you for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.