Home > Musings > The blog unites me with a friend!

The blog unites me with a friend!

October 16, 2009

The Internet has become such an integral part of our daily lives that we have begun to take it for granted. We now cannot imagine a world without the Internet and the Email. I find myself spending at least 2-3 hours each day using the net for my academic work and daily chores. And i am just a part of the lay community. Just imagine how today’s business would survive without this wonderful tool!

A few weeks ago, i had written in this blog about my classmate Paul Thamil Selvan and how he had helped me to start SVYM. I had ended the article emotionally with the note that he was one of my few good friends whom i had lost contact with. Imagine my surprise when i got a telephone call from him last Sunday, all the way from Malaysia! His daughter had read the blog article and told him about it. Wanting to reach out to me, he had somehow traced the telephone number of our Saragur hospital, contacted the front desk and collected my wife Bindu’s cell number. He called her and got my mobile number and email id. And there he was, talking to me for 2 hours and recollecting nostalgically the good old days of 1984!

Thanks once again to the Internet which has made it possible to bridge the distances between people. How one wishes, that people could get closer in the real sense too…

Balu

Categories: Musings