Home > General > Why do Service?

Why do Service?

May 14, 2012

This is the recording of my conversation with Ms. Indu Ramesh, a freelance radio programmer based in Bangalore.

Balu

Categories: General
  1. Arun Karpur
    May 16, 2012 at 12:34 am

    Balu: I have heard you speak on several occasions regarding service and each time it remains to be an energizing force within my understanding of the space I occupy in this world. You have continued to refine your ideas of a holistic and sustainable development within the cultural context and that I believe is a message we should all understand. Making a difference in the way “I” think is not so much important than becoming a part of the process of development; becoming a change agent; letting people interpret and chart their ways. This I think takes the greatest level of spiritual understanding and courage to depart ourselves from the notion of “my” ideas. I also think your articulation of SVYM as a platform for expression of youth to experience the joy of service and learn the most valuable lessen of life is akin to some of the experiences that our students at Cornell University continue to express. I believe SVYM’s values inspired by Swami Vivekananda are a gift to contemporary society benefiting the erudite and amateurs alike.

  2. Naveena C K
    May 15, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    Agreed.

  3. R Balu
    May 15, 2012 at 5:34 am

    Naveen,

    My view is not to leave the tribal people as they were. I am trying to drive home the point that we may not have all the answers and need to be open-minded in exploring the best approach along with the people we work with. We need to think of a third path in which a healthy balance of the cultural and anthropological past is blended with the conveniences that the present can provide. Instead of taking extreme positions, i would suggest a more pragmatic middle path which retains the good of the past with that of the present.

    Balu

  4. May 14, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    Thanks a lot for giving an opportunity to listen to Balu. Its been a long time since I heard his voice. Dear Balu, need to speak to you and MAB. How to contact? tweet me @sudhee26

  5. Naveena C K
    May 14, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    It was very enlightening to listen to the conversation. The thing that appealed to me most was the emphasis on humility which is required of a social worker. And also of endurance. But I am not very sure of leaving the tribal people as they are. I think that point was not deliberated more even though the whole world knows that you are working to bring them to the main stream of life. At least that’s the idea that some of us have. Do you really feel that tribal people should be left for themselves? I think that the civilization in general which helps a person to evolve intellectually is good and that atmosphere is necessary for the tribals. I am not sure but that’s what I feel. Naturally we have all been tribals once. My sincere opinion is that the current atmosphere in which I am living is better than the tribal atmosphere. With all its defects, isn’t the urban atmosphere more conducive for human development than the tribal one?

    Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.