Home > General > What does it mean to be a patriotic Indian?

What does it mean to be a patriotic Indian?

November 14, 2012

This is a post written by my son Aniruddh. He is studying in 9th Standard in Mysore. He plays the tabla, loves to watch movies and is passionately devoted to everything Indian.

There are some questions that have definite answers and some questions with infinite answers. These questions with infinite answers make you think, consult, consider and conclude. One such question that I have been asked many times is “What does it mean to be a patriotic Indian?”

Patriotism is the love one shows for his country or ones devotion to the welfare of his country. A patriot is one who refers to his country as his mother and serves this mother in every way possible. According to me, patriotism is an emotion just like happiness, sadness, love and anger.

Some philosophers have believed in the goodness of patriotism whereas some have referred to it as an evil. A philosopher named Leo Wiener wrote the following lines in his article titled ‘Patriotism or Peace?’: “Patriotism cannot be good. What produces war is the desire for an exclusive good for one’s own nation – that is called patriotism. And so to abolish war, it is necessary to abolish patriotism, and to abolish patriotism, it is necessary first to become convinced that it is an evil”. Whereas another philosopher from Czechoslovakia wrote the following lines in a local newspaper: “The most extraordinary positive development in Czechoslovakia since its creation in 1918 is the growth of patriotism among its young students and soldiers”.

So, what do I think about patriotism? What does it mean to me to be a patriotic Indian?

I being an Indian citizen believe in goodness of patriotism because in a secular country like India it was patriotism that made all of us united and fight against the British for freedom. To me patriotism means to be willing to serve the country expecting nothing back from the country. It means to be willing to protect the motherland with one’s own blood. It means to be proud that I am an Indian. Most importantly, it means to love and respect the motherland.

After this, another question arises in my mind – ‘Am I a patriotic Indian?’ For this my answer is ‘yes’. I have an infinite amount of love and respect for my country. I am willing to protect the country with my blood like the soldiers who fought the Indo-Pakistan and Indo-China wars. Most importantly, I am proud to be an Indian.

“Bharath maatha ki Jai”

Aniruddh Balasubramaniam

Categories: General
  1. sindhu suresh
    November 16, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Dear Ani, Congratulations for your first article on the blog! Keep writing.I liked your approach of 3 c’s of consult, consider and conclude. I would like to add one more c to the list. i.e convince. When you consider something you should also have to be convinced of your conclusion. I will ask Raksha to read your article. I would also like you to observe the surroundings and also write about them.

  2. Aniruddh Balasubramaniam
    November 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Thank you all for your appreciation and kind words.

  3. Malathi
    November 15, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    Very good reflection Ani! I am really happy to read your writing in the blog for the first time.

  4. Arun Karpur
    November 15, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Ani: What a wonderful post. I am not only impressed by your writing style (which is really good) but also your thoughts on the notion of patriotism and one’s love for their country. It is very important that we understand our loyalties to our fellow brethren as well as with humanity as a whole. Sometimes, by drawing these artificial borders, we humans have created a false sense of ownership and end up fighting with one another with an anticipation of controlling resources that we know we cannot own. How can one own rivers, mountains, and nature? Your journey into this ambiguous and crazy world has begun and I applaud you for having a courage to put your thoughts out there. Though you may potentially subject yourself to criticisms from others on your thoughts and ideas, I feel that is the only way you can further your wisdom and inform others of what you think about the world. Congratulations on this post.

  5. Nandini
    November 14, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Good Job, Ani.

  6. Sudarshan
    November 14, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    Congrats Ani ! It’s important for us to ward off “cynicism” often misconstrued with”patriotism”..I would love to read atleast one post every month..keep it going dear !

  7. Arvind
    November 14, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Well said. Patriotism is courage and conviction to stand up and do what is right. Sometimes this may not be popular.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.